testing & re-attaching faulty drive ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

benni2

Dabbler
freenas version: 9

hi folks,

i'm pretty new to FreeNAS (or at least: i haven't got much experience). right now, i have a faulty drive, so i wanna do everything right.

i have a raid z2 with 8 drives. one of them is faulty right now. first of all: in the documentation, it says that you can see the resilvering status when calling zpool status. but there, i only see a scrub, no resilvering. 1) is that the same in this case? or how can i see the resilvering status? (please note that i have version 9 of FreeNAS).

Code:
 state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices are faulted in response to persistent errors.
		Sufficient replicas exist for the pool to continue functioning in a
		degraded state.
action: Replace the faulted device, or use 'zpool clear' to mark the device
		repaired.
  scan: scrub in progress since Sun Nov 19 12:47:17 2017
		2.06T scanned out of 16.3T at 478M/s, 8h41m to go
		0 repaired, 12.60% done

2) parallelly to the resilvering process, i probably can do a long SMART test on the faulty drive without making the mess worse, right?
3) if the SMART test is ok, i'd like to re-attach the drive to the raid z as every drive has got a "bad moment". how can i do that? first, i'll probably wait until the resilvering is done completely. and then i just type in zpool clear and everything is back to normal?

it would be great if you helped me out :)

cheers,
benni

Last edited by a moderator:

joeschmuck

Old Man
First of all what is the error message of the failed drive? And output the results of smartctl -a /dev/adax where adax is the drive identifier.

Do not run a SMART test while the drive is running a scrub or resilvering.

EDIT: Also look at my signature for the Hard Drive Troubleshooting Guide. It has a lot of info in it but I really need to know what the failure is to be of much help.

benni2

Dabbler
thanks for your fast reply, joeschmuck.