Testing disk failures - can't wipe replace disk

Status
Not open for further replies.

ayc

Cadet
I have a new 9.2 install. LSI 9211 HBA, IT mode, WD RE4 disks. I'm testing failure cases before putting the system into production.

I pulled two drives, saw the system was degraded but still accessible, received email. All good.

Put the two drives back. "View Disks" shows the drives, no serial numbers. Hmmm. "Replace Disk" doesn't let me choose these replacement drives. Ok, maybe because they're still labelled?

Tried to wipe the disks. I get:

"Error: Failed to wipe da5p1: dd /dev/da4p1: Operation not supported".

Back to the shell, dd on that partition truly does give an error. camcontrol can see the drives.

I'm new to FreeBSD, so I'm not sure how to debug. I'm thinking maybe the /dev/da5p1 is stale and not being rebuilt on hotplug? Pull the drives again, camcontrol rescan. /dev/da5* is gone, but "View Disks" still shows it. Looks like the disk list is cached. Not good, but a different problem.

Put the drives back. Still no go. kernel says:
mps0: mpssas_alloc_tm freezing simq​
mps0: mpssas_remove_complete on handle 0x000d, IOCStatus= 0x0​
mps0: mpssas_free_tm releasing simq​
(da5:mps0:0:5:0): lost device - 0 outstanding, 3 refs​
mps0: mpssas_remove_complete on handle 0x0010, IOCStatus= 0x0​
(da6:mps0:0:6:0): lost device - 0 outstanding, 3 refs​
mps0: mpssas_action faking success for abort or reset​
mps0: mpssas_remove_complete on handle 0x000d, IOCStatus= 0x0​
mps0: mpssas_remove_complete on handle 0x0010, IOCStatus= 0x0​
cam_periph_alloc: attempt to re-allocate valid device da6 rejected flags 0x18 refcount 2​
daasync: Unable to attach to new device due to status 0x6​
cam_periph_alloc: attempt to re-allocate valid device da5 rejected flags 0x18 refcount 2​
daasync: Unable to attach to new device due to status 0x6​