Switching from OpenIndiana w/ napp-it to Freenas

Status
Not open for further replies.

eztech

Cadet
I have a few questions regarding ZFS v28 pool importing from OpenIndiana to Freenas. I have been using this setup for almost 8 months and it seems very stable however setting up share security in OpenIndiana is a bit more involved than I'd like. My setup uses an Intel serverboard w/ a Quad Core Xeon processor running ESXI 5. I use an LSI SAS9220-8i with IT firmware for JBOD setup configured for direct passthrough to OpenIndiana. I currently have 1x 120GB Kingston HyperX SSD connected to onboard SATA that ESXI and OpenIndiana load from and I have 5x 2TB drives configured as a RAIDZ-2 connected to the LSI controller.

1. Will the RAIDZ-2 pool import go smoothly?

2. Does Freenas have any issues running as a VM from an SSD?

3. How much dedicated server resources are recommended to run this setup?

4. Will SMB share security be easily configured using AD in Win2008 R2 and Freenas?

Thank You in advance for any insight as Freenas seems much more easily managed than OpenIndiana

jgreco

Resident Grinch
http://forums.freenas.org/showthrea...un-FreeNAS-in-production-as-a-Virtual-Machine!

That warning having been given:

1) Haven't done it but don't see why not.

2) FreeNAS expects to be running off USB but can run off pretty much any bootable FreeBSD disk storage. Some of us have found USB to have some downsides. I like the flexibility of booting it off an ESXi datastore, which gives me RAID1 and easy upgrades.

3) As much as you can afford (and do pay attention to what it says). FreeNAS with ZFS is really designed to run on bare metal and may be a little more resource-hungry. If lower performance is acceptable, the recommendations can be bent a bit.

4) No idea.

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
1) I've heard OpenIndiana had a newer ZFS version, so you better make sure it is V28, if so there should be no problem