Super NooB need help creating and configuring permission

Status
Not open for further replies.

digitalfortress

Dabbler
Hi,

I just build my first nas using freenas 8. i'll use this system for my office. So basically i need to create many users and a lot of folders. each users will have permission to access specific folders. i've try to tinker by my self, but i have many difficulties. i've try to create users, groups, and a few CIFS. But it didn't work like i want to. i must enable guess access in order to be able to access it from my win 7 client PC. and every folder (CIFS) i create show the same contents.

Can you guys help me from scrap step by step ? or point me some link that explain step by step guide to configure freenas 8. Because i'm totally new in this stuff.

My setup : 3x500GB WD caviar blue, Configure all of them with ZFS RAIDZ with "Volume1" as the name. The total available size is 1TB with RAIDZ

Thanks a lot guys.

digitalfortress

Dabbler
I've already tried that link and follow it. i don't understand that we should do the command line from Client PC or in the NAS system itself ? i've tried to ssh with putty from client PC when i type mkdir /mnt/storage/home/alpha it says "No such file or directory"

digitalfortress

Dabbler
Now i understand bout the command line. Sorry... My bad before. By the way i still not able to set the path when creating windows shares. the path available to select only /mnt/storage. there's no any available path to select beside that. but when i access with winSCP all the folder i've create in command line is existing. so i just try to select /mnt/storage as the path for all windows share that i create. i think it's working but it's a little strange because there are "alpha-beta" and "home" folders in each alpha, alpha-beta, and beta shares. But i do have access to read and write on the root of each shares.

ProtoSD

MVP