Streaming media directly from FreeNAS device to A/V receiver?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tamothy

Cadet
Hello! I have just setup FreeNAS on an older PC. I plan to use this NAS to backup 2 Macbook Pro's, but am more excited about using it as a media server. I have copied over all of my media to the NAS, and am now trying to figure out how best to stream the media. Currently I am running an HDMI cable from my Macbook to the receiver, and playing the networked media through VLC. It works great, but it seems inefficient, especially since the motherboard on the NAS has an HDMI out port. What I would like to do is just stream the media directly from the NAS to the receiver, and control playback wirelessly through my Macbook. Is this possible? I know that some of the Thecus NAS devices have built in media player capability, so I don't think the idea is too far fetched. My goal is to avoid having to get a separate media player.

I should mention that I am new to FreeNAS and am not the most technically savvy individual out there. I have gotten this far by reading forums, but haven't been able to find any threads that address what I am trying to accomplish. Hopefully someone out there can help! :) Many thanks.

ProtoSD

MVP
.... especially since the motherboard on the NAS has an HDMI out port. What I would like to do is just stream the media directly from the NAS to the receiver, and control playback wirelessly through my Macbook. Is this possible?

Almost anything is possible ;) , but the way you want to do it is not practical on FreeNAS. FreeNAS is stripped down to be small and doesn't include many of the drivers you need for certain hardware, ie. the on-board video/playing media directly from your NAS.

There are some plugins like miniDLNA which will stream media from your NAS to DLNA compliant devices like some TV's.