Building a NAS from scratch – for use with backups and media storage

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a MacBook Air, which has a 128GB SSD. Currently, I backup my Air to an external hard drive with Time Machine. However, I have several Aperture photo libraries on my hardware as well, which also need to be backed up to a separate physical drive. Enter NAS.

I am considering building my own NAS. I need to be able to store media, backup my Air, and also backup my media. I’m not very good with hardware (better with software) so I would like advice on this. I’m not too bothered about size, but I am bothered about power consumption. Some of the NASs on the market run at below 20 watts. Is this achievable with a custom built NAS?

What setup do you suggest for backing up my Air (presumably with Time Machine), storing media, and backing up that media (presumably not with Time Machine)? I have in mind a small HDD for backing up my Air (~128GB), and then from there on, a RAID 1 setup – to begin with, perhaps 2x 1TB HDD. This is where my media (photos, music, etc.) would go, and I think I’m right in saying that RAID 1 will mirror this, so if one physical drive fails, I don’t lose any data.

To throw another spanner into the works, in the future I may be looking to run my own web server. I understand that this will require a different kind of OS. If I wanted to have the NAS described above and an Apache web server, what setup would I need then? This is the least important question I have, and would prefer an optimal setup for the above over this.

JaimieV

Guru
It's tricky to build a NAS below 20W without custom hardware, but something like an HP Microserver hovers around the 32W level with one disk in (~5W per additional 3.5" disk). You may do better with an Atom mobo and a selfbuild, but it'll cost a fair bit more.

Use Time Machine, definitely, for the internal disk - I backup all my Macs to the FreeNAS that way.