Strange spool after HD firmware upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.

adrianwi

Guru
I'd hijacked a how-to thread after a strange problem with my zpool following a hard drive firmware upgrade and was asked to post as a new thread, so here goes!

Original how-to thread here > http://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/updating-seagate-hard-drive-firmware.14561/#post-102194

Firmware upgrade appeared to go OK on two drives, but no firmware available for the other two even though FreeNAS is giving me a warning that one may be available.

I then got a critical error e-mail but was at work so couldn't investigate > The volume APE_pool (ZFS) status is DEGRADED

This is the post I made after getting home to investigate:

Very strange! I'm still pretty new to this, so really not sure exactly what I've done but it seems to have cured the problem.

When I checked the Volume Status the RAIDZ1 was showing the 4 disks with one without the ada1p2 and a long text string and UNAVAIL next to it. I assumed this was a faulty drive, but unsure which one to remove did a little more digging in the WebUI. Couldn't seem to work it out, so went back to Volume Status and clicked the only option available when clicking the offending disk - Replace (and not Remove as originally posted)

Clicked this and it showed me the serial number, so thought I'd be able to shutdown and then identify the disk. After clicking replace (and not remove as originally posted), I got a new option - Detach. As I was about to click this, I noticed that I now had all 4 disk with ada0-3p2 showing all with a status of ONLINE. Thought I'd click Detach on the UNAVAIL one and see what happened - it just disappeared.

I now have a yellow warning light in the WebUI telling me that one or more of the devices is being resilvered so it looks like it's fixed itself.

I've ordered a replacement drive, just in case, so will just keep an eye on things.

Any idea what might have happened?