SSD choice for TrueNas Scale boot pool

fornex

Dabbler
Hello everyone,

I have built my first TrueNas, which I have been enjoying for the past 5 months or so. However, the SSDs that I use for my boot pool have been driving me nuts with some occasional read/write errors, which renders the pool DEGRADED. After trying out many things (see more details below), I decided on using other SSDs. However, I am a bit lost at which SSD to actually choose in order to not run into these exact same errors & problems.

In your opinion, what is the best SSD for a boot pool that is not awfully expensive? This is essentially a home NAS with some more important work-related documents stored on it as well. I have seen some recommendations for the Intel D3-S4520, and the Samsung 860 and 870, with some counterarguments for the latter two as well.

A little more detail: