Small File Xfer OK, Large File Xfer Errors

Status
Not open for further replies.

G-Man

Cadet
I’ve searched the Internet and this forum for days now and can’t seem to find a solid solution to what appears to be a repetitive issue for several FreeNAS users. I am fairly computer savvy with Windows based PCs, but this is my first attempt at a UNIX-Like FreeBSD type environment so go easy on me.

My new FreeNAS 8 setup went well, but the problem I’m experiencing is I can’t copy large files to the NAS. Example, I can copy a single 500MB file nicely at approx. 98MB/s, but when I test copy a 2GB file it starts out well at the same speed but then slows to around 9.7MB/s and freezes at about the 40% mark. If I wait it out I eventually get a popup error message on the Windows machine as follows:

“There is a problem accessing \\FreeNas\Share. Make sure you are connected to the network and try again.”

From there I can’t access the share or do anything with the NAS Web GUI until I reboot it. Upon reboot I can see that a large amount of the file did get copied (approx. 1.7GB of 2GB), but it is not accessible because it is a partial which makes it corrupt. This test has been repeated with different files and I always get the same result.

I finally decided to duplicate the error but hooked a monitor and graphics card back up to the NAS PC which allowed me to see hundreds of scrolling error messages as follows:

“swap_pager: I/O error - pageout failed; blkno xx,size xx, error 6”