Slow transfer CIF and AFP

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidK

Dabbler
Hi,

New to FreeNas just got my system setup
image.tiff

I have 4 drives setup just to test the system, 2 1TB set a mirror and a 1.5TB & 750GB drive.

The system has a GB ethernet card, I have checked with ifconfig and it is active. The connection form the computer to the switch shows the 1GB connection. When I check iperf I am only getting 10MB rate. From the switch to the router it looks like it drops to 100MBS, may be length of CAT5. What I am seeing in my transfer speeds from a number of different computers is at best 1mb and more in the 3-500K range.

I have been reading through the threads on similar issues and have not found anything that has helped. I am pretty new to this so I may have missed something obvioius, any suggestions would be appreciated.

Attachments

• FreeNas System.png
    FreeNas System.png
    33.3 KB · Views: 245

gpsguy

Since you mention it, how long is your network cable. If it's over 100 meters, you could add a gigabit switch between the 2 segments. Are the "different computers" connecting via a wired (preferably gigabit) connection or wirelessly. If the latter, that would account for terrible performance.

DavidK

Dabbler
I don't think it is over 100m, it may be 50-75, I will need to do some checking. The computers I have been using to test both are wired, I think 1 has a gigabit connection, but in both cases I only get max about 1mbs.

gpsguy

Can you move them closer together and swap cables for testing? Perhaps you have a rodent munching on the cable. o_O

DavidK

Dabbler
Pinot sure about the rodents. But I can move the box back into the office and hook it directly to the router. My recollection is that the speed was the same as that is where it was
when I set it up.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
First, you need schooled bro...

MB = megabyte

Mb = megabit

If you don't understand the relationship stop and Google them. The distinction is VERY IMPORTANT.