Extremely slow transfer speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISantus

Dabbler
I recently set up my first FreeNAS system but have been experiencing issues. If I restart my entire NAS system I can usually get transfer speeds of 80-100 megabytes per second. If I transfer larger files (more than 50GB) or if the system has sat unused, or I have recently transferred one file at 25gb and try to transfer another, I get transfer speeds of 400-700 KB/s. EXTREMELY SLOW! I have tried to make sure the HDDs never go into sleep or low power mode, SMART is off, but beyond that I am still learning FreeNAS. Don't kill me for being so new to this stuff. A lot of this stuff is above my head but I am trying to learn and consider myself pretty tech savy. I have built many gaming machines over the years, built several HTPCs and now my first NAS.

Here are the hardware specs:
  • motherboard make and model: ASRock C2550D4I Minit ITX server
  • CPU make and model: On board Intel Avoton C2550 Quad core processor
  • RAM quantity: Crucial 16gb DDR3 ECC unbuffered 1600
  • hard drives, quantity, model numbers, and RAID configuration: 2 x 1 TB Seagate 7200RPM HDD. I cant remember Raid setup but it is redundant 2 drive
  • hard disk controllers: IBM M1015 8Channel PCI-E X8 SATA Raid
  • network cards: on ASRock motherboard
I am transferring over a wired connection through my home router and to a switch. Let me know what additional questions you have to try to help this naive soul out.

Last edited by a moderator:

Joseph Lennemann

Explorer
What type of switch are you using? Also, what type of share are you using? Examples would be SMB or Apple share. There are others, but I only use those so I cannot remember the others.

ISantus

Dabbler
It is an SMB share. I am having a hard time sharing over wired connection from a Windows 10 machine. I have not tried shares from other devices on the network. Perhaps I should to at least narrow down if it is in fact the FreeNas server.