Several Questions (newbie)

Status
Not open for further replies.

blackjackz

Cadet
Hello everyone, I'm somewhat new to freenas, many years ago I used it when floppy's were around :) but its seems that freenas has come along way since then.

I have a ton of questions and wasn't quite sure where to post since this covers many different topics.

For quite some time I wanted to be able to manage back-ups at home and at my parents house (since they do not do a very good job of backups.) So I've been trying to come with a decent solution that is cost effective. What I came up was to build 2 pfsense firewalls connect them via Ipsec tunnel (dynamic IP's). Then I would have 2 separate freenas servers, one in each location that would either sync or trade back ups. Which freenas seems very capable in doing all of this so far. I get a little lost to which plugins would be best for backing up then syncing the backups between servers. Also, one last bit of information. While I'm working on setting all of this up I will also be building a VM server with Xenserver, which brings a few more questions along :)

Server Build out
case - Cooler Master HAF Stacker 935 (Freenas in small upper case, VM server bottom case)
mobo - Asrock Server motherboard C2550D4i mem - Kingston memory 2x8gb ECC
HDD - 5x 2TB WD Red NAS drives (not set in stone) ZFS RaidZ2
Plugins to be ran - backups, couch potato, sickbeard, sabnzbd, headphones, owncloud?, plex?

VM server - haven't chose parts yet

pfsense will be running on this little guy with 4gig DDR3 and standard 2.5 HDD- http://www.mitxpc.com/proddetail.asp?prod=EKIAD2500DL

Questions:
1. From what I've read the ASrock mobo shouldnt have any issues running all those applications, it may be a little taxing at times depending which back ups are scheduled. Has anyone had any experience with running sabnzbd it can be tough when extracting files or repairing?