Rsync push task fails with Delete option selected

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derek Humes

Dabbler
Hi, I have searched the forums but have been unable to find any other information on this error I am seeing.

I am currently running FreeNAS-9.10.2-U4 (27ae72978)

I have an Rsync job that runs to copy a directory from my FreeNAS box to a volume located on a machine in my office. This job works correctly if I do NOT have the Delete option selected in the Rsync task configurations. However, if I enabled the Delete option, the job fails to start, and /var/log/messages indicates failure to start due to an rsync syntax error.

I am fairly new to FreeNAS, FreeBSD, and generally all Unix/Linux.

Is there somewhere else I should be looking for more logging information?

Thank you,

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Could you share some more information about what it is you are doing? Are both of these systems running the same version of FreeNAS?
Are you configuring the rsync through the GUI?
Can you give the exact text of the error as that might help determine the cause?

Derek Humes

Dabbler
The other system is a Mac Mini with an attached USB external hard drive. I am using Rsync to push copy the contents of this directory daily to the externally attached usb drive.

Yes I am configuring Rsync through the GUI.

Code:
 Sep 18 12:00:00 KCANPFNAS001 rsync: rsync: on remote machine: --delete-delay: un
known option																	
Sep 18 12:00:00 KCANPFNAS001 rsync: rsync error: syntax or usage error (code 1)
at /BuildRoot/Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/rsync/rsync-47/rsync/main.c(1
333) [server=2.6.9]															 
Sep 18 12:00:00 KCANPFNAS001 rsync: rsync: connection unexpectedly closed (0 byt
es received so far) [sender]													
Sep 18 12:00:00 KCANPFNAS001 rsync: rsync error: error in rsync protocol data st
ream (code 12) at io.c(226) [sender=3.1.2]

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Is this error showing up on the Apple side or on the FreeNAS side?

Chris Moore