Real-time transcode video

Status
Not open for further replies.

twsps

Contributor
Hi,
I'm new to this and I would like to ask if there's any plugin that I can use for me to stream videos on NAS and transcode in real-time when on low network speed.
For example,
I have a 4K video in NAS, and I have my phone with low network speed on 4G. Can FreeNAS transcode 4K video to 720p or 480p automatically based on my network speed?

Ps. I'm not thinking about Plex at this moment.

Thanks.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
You should think about Plex. It does exactly what you are asking.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Emby is another option.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Does Plex require my media to go over their server?

No.

They provide a redirect mechanism to your FreeNAS instance of Plex, but do not store or index your content.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

danb35

Hall of Famer
Ps. I'm not thinking about Plex at this moment.
You really should be, as that's exactly what it's designed to do. As @Jailer notes, Emby is another alternative--different software that does about the same thing. If you're wanting FreeNAS itself to do this, the answer is no.

pro lamer

Guru
I have a 4K video in NAS, and I have my phone with low network speed on 4G. Can FreeNAS transcode 4K video to 720p or 480p automatically based on my network speed?
Depends on the CPU "power", input bitrate, encoding (h.264?), fps...

twsps

Contributor
Over here I was thinking using any ftp application but also achieve real-time transcode. Does Plex require me to use their app?

danb35

Hall of Famer
Over here I was thinking using any ftp application
Very bad idea if you're going over a public network.
but also achieve real-time transcode.
How would you expect to do that? I'm not aware of any FTP server that has an option to pipe a file through a transcoder.
Does Plex require me to use their app?
Their app, or the web app hosted on your server.

twsps

Contributor