Raid z server-rebuild resulting in 1 HDD loss, How do I replace new drive

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good evening guys/girls

I'm new to FreeNas problem solving. I've been running FreeNas servers for the last 3 years upgrading regularly, with no hardware failure to my luck.
However, today, after replacing my hardware with a new HP Micro-server, I tried to import the array like always, now realizing that it only picked
up 3 of my 4 Hdd used in the Raid z array. Now, if this was a personal server, I'd just restart collecting data, but this is a company backup server
and I'll probably have some scary problems if I can't find a solution.

freenas 8.3.0 beta 3 3 of 3.JPG

Well, all the info I can think of.

1.) I wiped the previous FreeNas setup from the Usb-Drive, installed FreeNas 8.2.0, also replacing it with 8.3.0 Beta to see if there's something else
I could use to get the data back.
2.) When trying to Auto Import Volume, It picks up the array / Disk but gives me the following error: The Volume " " failed to import, for further details check
pool status..... This is with both the remaining 3 hard-drives as well as with the 4th new HDD added.

Please help

freenas 8.3.0 beta 3 1 of 3.JPG freenas 8.3.0 beta 3 2 of 3.JPG

joshg678

Explorer
Well i am still new to freenas zfs etc.
But it would be failing because it only sees 3 drives.
Have you done the basic trouble shooting to find out why the 4th drive is not showing?

Is it showing in the BIOS?
You make sure all 4 drives have been connected with power and the data? (simple i know, but everyone has their moments)
If all is connected, i would (while off) disconnect and reconnect everything and see if anything changes

If not, i would switch some cables around and see if that makes a difference. Try replacing them with new cables

Its also very possible that the 4th drive died when it was powered off the last time. Or the cable connection went bad.