Raid Not Working Correctly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joseph Dinsdale

Dabbler
Hi all,

I am currently in the proses of needing to build a new storage solution, I will be making a new topic about this later. For now I am testing out the FreeNAS software on a VM machine.

I have given the VM 5 hard drives, 1 that has FreeNAS installed and the other 4 are 4GB each, just to run a small test with.

I want to create 2 volumes. one called test1 and the other called test2. Each volume I will add 2 of the 4GB hard drives and put them in stripe raid.

im no expert in raids and what they all do but I have 3 small home NAS's and each of those are in strip raid with 2 4TB hard drives in them, so the give me 8TB each.

So from what i do know about raids is that strip raid gives increased performance and uses the storage space of each hard drive that is in the raid, that's why in my current NAS's i have 8TB storage and not less.

But using FreeNAS on this VM when I go to create a volume I add the 2 4GB hard drives and set it to Stripped raid. after the set-up of the volume, it shows as only having 4GB of space? why is this, should it not show up as having 8GB of space?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
What is the purpose of your selecting a data-protecting filesystem like ZFS if you are not going to give it any redundancy to operate from?

Joseph Dinsdale

Dabbler
What is the purpose of your selecting a data-protecting filesystem like ZFS if you are not going to give it any redundancy to operate from?

Hi thanks for your question. As i say i do not know much about raids i was planning on having the first volume in strip to give me the most storage then i was going to use the second volume to be a backup for the first. that's why i need the second to be in strip so it matches the same structure of what's been backed up.

danb35

Hall of Famer