Poor performance after moving server.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tank

Dabbler
I recently setup FreeNAS 9.3 with latest updates on a 5U server with 4 - 3TB WD Red drives. Also setup a samba share. Everything was working fine until the power strip was suddenly turned off and since it was off I decided to move the server to a new location in the house. After booting back up it has been extremely slow ever since. It's connected to a Linksys router which is basically just a client on my main Linksys router. To make sure it wasn't a problem with the wireless routing I plugged my laptop in to the same exact line and did a speed test - everything is good, but FreeNAS is very sluggish - even the web interface is slow at times. I'm new to FreeNAS and therefore don't know what to look for. The web UI says the volume is healthy. I've tried looking at permissions issues but still have problems even with guest access enabled. What could be the issue?

zambanini

Patron
without hw specs and more information about your setup,(pool config, network part..) nobody can help you‎

jgreco

Resident Grinch
The forum rules, conveniently linked in red at the top of every page, provide an outline of the information you're expected to provide in order to help us help you better.

I will note that the next obvious step is to provide some iperf testing numbers to see if there's a problem with the networking.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Have you moved it back to the original location to see if the performance is normal? Did it cleanly shutdown the first time, or was the power strip turned off? Perhaps a hard shutdown caused some problems, not the move.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moving the server back is a spectacularly bad idea. One of the enemies of hard disk drives is any sort of bumping or jostling motion. It is a very bad idea to move a server without having a very good reason.

gpsguy