PLEX - Port Forwarding with FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hunter Norman

Dabbler
Hello,
I'm having some trouble with something, as I'm new to FreeNAS but a long time PLEX user. I've setup a headless freeNAS server on on old computer and I've been using the Plex media server on FreeNAS for months now, it works perfectly. However, I just recently needed to access PLEX remotely and ran into some issues. First an indirect connection, but now no access at all. Here are my steps so far (Using a Netgear R6300 AC router):
  • In my router I reserved my freeNAS server IP and my Plex JAIL IP so they are static (My Host computer's ethernet and wireless IPs are also static)
  • In PLEX, under settings > remote access, I set the port to 32400
  • On the router settings, I went to port triggering/forwarding and set a forward that I named for PLEX, putting 32400 as all 4 internal and external port spaces, and then I put the IP for my PLEX jail as the IP address there (again, I reserved this as static in the router)
  • On the FreeNAS web GUI, I went into my PLEX jail under settings, the IPV4 is correct there and my router gateway IP is set under IPV4 gateway.
  • UPnP is turned off in the router and NAT is unchecked in the jail configuration
I'm hoping that is detailed enough to start, as I've gone through so many of these steps countless times now and just can't seem to get the remote access enabled. Thanks for any help!

saikee

Explorer
I believe Plex wants your internal port to be 32400 which should be same for both Start and End ports. This is for Plex servers I believe. You should use a different port for the external port which is related to your router. Plex documentation recommends a range of values you can use.

The static IP inside the router isn't truly static address that you can called up as having one requiring an upgrade from a domestic to business account in UK.