Planning a 2-disk-failure-safe, high speed, VM capable, NAS storage

xrm

Cadet
Hi *,

sorry for posting yet another "how to build my system" post; as a lot of people here I am rather unsure how to come up with the best solution for my requirements given that I'm rather new to the TrueNAS-World.

I plan to build a new storage for a larger K-12-like school and have a couple of requirements:
Reliability. I have functional backups up and running, but I experienced in the past how resilvering after a single bad disk brought down three more disks of a RAID5 within a month due to the increased load. As such, I really would like to be able to work with a failure of two disks.
Speed. I have about 20 VMs and some of them are IO intensive. Ideally, I would like to see a peak data throughput in the middle to upper three digit MB/s. 600 to 800 MB/s would be a good start, something in the range of 1.5 GB/s would be ideal and give me some headroom. (More would be better of course, especially since we might have HD video cutting in a few months, but I could handle that with local disks if that's not possible.)
VM capable. According to several sources, this should be done with multiple mirror-vdevs. That alone would be acceptable, but together with my "reliability" wish, this would mean that I have to mirror 3 disks. That's ... a bit much of overhead.
Expandable. Ideally, I don't want individual storages for my VMs disks since I do not yet know how their space requirements will change over the next years and I don't like tinkering with my storage setup all the time.
Price. Money is a concern - but of course not as much as in a (typical) home lab. I can likely throw an "upper end" four digit sum at this if it the result is worth it and I'm doing this pretty much as a honorary job so my work time comes for free.