OpenVPN and routing problem (I think)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meldrew

Cadet
Hi,

I'm probably missing something stupid as I'm new to FreeNAS and FreeBSD, although experienced with Windows (programmer/system administrator). I'm not quite sure what is relevant and what's not, so please excuse me for this!

I have FreeNAS 8.3.1 setup (on an old P4 PC) with transmission in a jail, which is working fine, but wanted to download anonymously, so have setup OpenVPN for use with an anonymous VPN service. I haven't used a jail for freenas as doing research it looked way complicated.

I have got the VPN working and I get the 'Initialization Sequence Completed.' message fine. I don't think that data is being transmitted down the tunnel correctly however. Certainly the interface for tun0 is only showing a few bytes to and fro (keepalive packets I'm guessing), nowhere near the amount of data that transmission is pushing around.

I tried using the FreeBSD fetch command to diagnose things. My ISP blocks the piratebay so I used this to test and tried to fetch the home page of the site. I got my ISP's block message. I also tried downloading a couple of meg file from a website to see what would happen. This appeared in the reporting > interface (tun0) as if it was coming through the VPN however.

I tried changing the default route to be the VPN tunnel IP (this end) but this caused a very quick keel over of FreeNAS as I think the OS drive filled up to capacity. I thought logs were the issue as I still had a fairly high logging level on OpenVPN, but lowering this and trying again caused the same.

If someone could point me in the correct direction I'd be very grateful and if there's something important I've not included above, just let me know.

Many thanks in advance for any assistance.

Meldrew

Meldrew

Cadet