Openvpn service(anonine) inside transmission jail, cannot connect to transmission web interface

Status
Not open for further replies.

andreasoz

Cadet
Hello all,

I have been using a openvpn service inside my transmission jail for a while, but I now switched to another vpn provider, anonine, and I can't access the transmission web interface via the vpn ip anymore.

The ifconfig is as follows:

tun0: flags=9051<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,LINK0,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=80000<LINKSTATE>
inet 10.10.30.6 --> 10.10.30.1 netmask 0xffffffc0
nd6 options=1<PERFORMNUD>
Opened by PID 15032
Previously on my other vpn service, I only got one ip instead of "inet 10.10.30.6 --> 10.10.30.1". When I try check my external ip, I get a different ip each time I check.

I suspect it's due to some strange routing, but I am a noob and don't know much about that.

Also, pinging google, and downloading torrents works, I just can't access the interface via the external vpn ip. I can however connect to the LAN ip(192.168.1.3) and that still works. If I disable the vpn I can access the transmission interface and jail.

So my issue is really that I cannot add torrents via the webgui when the vpn is connected.

Any tips on how to solve my issue?

F1aX

Dabbler
It is not possible to connect to the public ip from anonine, since the port is not forwarded to you. You see, there're many users sharing the same public ip.

What you on the other hand CAN do, is to connect via SSH to your own IP and forward the transmission port (192.168.1.3:9091) via that connection. Then you could access your transmissionGUI from a remote location via http://localhost:8080

Last edited:

zoomzoom

Guru