Old enterprise gear build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donny Davis

Contributor
I have been tinkering around for several months trying to come up with a build that meets my requirements, and exceeds my expectations.

So this is what I have so far.

HP DL380 G6 with 16x sas bays
2x lsi 9211 internal HBA'S in IT mode
1x lsi 9200-8e external HBA in IT mode ( all cards on v16 of the lsi firmware)
1x Chelsio s320 10gb SFP+ Nic
2x HP MSA 70 - 25 bays each
2x 120gb Crucial Drives
64x 600gb dual port 10k SAS Drives

I am trying to get maximum performance and of course no waste space (ie raid 10).

I was going to use the ssd's for zil and put the drives in raidz2 8x8

Any suggestions? Thoughts?

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
I am trying to get maximum performance and of course no waste space (ie raid 10).

I was going to use the ssd's for zil and put the drives in raidz2 8x8
RAIDz2 is great for parity, not so good for performance (akin to RAID6).

I'm really guessing here, but you may benefit from these stickies in our forum:
  • The ZFS Primer
  • Slideshow explaining VDev, zpool, Zil and L2ARC

Donny Davis

Contributor
I'm thinking performance should still be pretty good. I'm striping across 8 array's.

I should edit my post to say maximum performance without wasting space. If the disks were priced better per gig then I would go raid 10 all the way, and it would be a champion.

I did read the zfs primer, and the zil,slog etc slideshow.

This is used as a oVirt backstore on either iscsi or NFS... Not sure which I am going to do yet.

NFS is way easier to manage as far as backups go.

If I had anymore money I would get one of those killer pcie ssd's for my zil and slog. The 120g drives are way overkill on size for zil or slog, and they aren't that great on performance. I wish someone made an affordable pcie ssd with say only 16gb for zfs purposes.

I'm out of funds for the moment, so what I have will have to do.