Offsite backup to another TrueNAS

cK7Tcosta

Cadet
Hello all,

Let me preface by saying I’m very new to TrueNAS and not an IT pro.

I recently got a scare when both drives on a mirror disappeared from the system. That got me thinking I should have an offsite backup for my whole system.
Reading the documentation, I found the best way to backup a TrueNAS system to another is by using replication. This however requires an SSH connection with root access which, for obvious reasons, the documentation also recommends that one should not allow from outside sources.
That said, how would you do this? Is there some kind of service that allows this offsite backup?
The relevant threads I have found in the forums don’t really answer my questions.

I’ll be running two TrueNAS Scale systems in different houses. I only have DDNS working on the main house but I can have it in both.

Thank you in advance

jgreco

Resident Grinch
If you can nail up a permanent VPN between the two sites, you can run an rsyncd (daemon mode rsync) on your local machine, and have the remote pull from your local machine. This gets around the whole root access issue.

danb35

Hall of Famer
That said, how would you do this?
I'm doing it--SCALE on my system to CORE on my parents' system. I do have an IPsec VPN connection set up between the two sites, and I'm using replication--using SSH public key authentication, it's plenty secure for my comfort level.

mb17

Dabbler
Just my 2 cents...

As others have said, here is what I would recommend. (I too am not a TrueNAS expert.)
  1. Setup site2site VPN connection of your choosing. I would suggest IPSEC.
  2. Setup secondary TrueNAS at site1 unless you are sure your Site2site is good.
  3. Configure the second TrueNAS to Pull data from the primary unit.
    1. Pull configuration using it's own login credentials is a higher level of security.