Noobie Experiencing Possible Drive Failure?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Macaroni323

Explorer
I've been running FreeNAS for a few years as a home server with no real issues until today, when I have received two warnings:

CRITICAL: Dec. 16, 2018, 4:17 a.m. - Device: /dev/ada1, 2 Currently unreadable (pending) sectors
CRITICAL: Dec. 16, 2018, 4:05 a.m. - The volume rixpool state is ONLINE: One or more devices has experienced an unrecoverable error. An attempt was made to correct the error. Applications are unaffected.

I am trying to figure out exactly what is happening to the array. From the first warning, I think it is saying the drive ADA1 is failing with 2 sectors on the drive not being readable (though I first read it as both ADA1 and 2 are failing with bad sectors). From the second warning, I think the data is OK since the pool is "ONLINE" (I'm confirming my backup of the array currently). I'm just looking for some confirmation of my interpretation.

I have four, 4TB Western Digital "Red" hard drives installed forming a total storage size of 8TB. From the "Reporting" webpage I notice that ADA0 and ADA1 have similar "Disk I/O" activity, as well as ADA2 and ADA3 have similar "Disk I/O" activity. I would assume that ADA0 and 1 are mirrored as 4TB and ADA2 and 3 are mirrored as 4TB of the available 8TB. In the "Disk Latency" chart there is a different story. ADA2 and AD3 have similar latencies but ADA0 and ADA1 are very different (especially at 4:05am). ADA1 showed a 15 second latency around the time of the indicated critical warning (also a 2.5 second latency around 2 hours later). I think this just confirms ADA1 disk is having "issues".

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer