[NOOB] Proposed first FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

NZ_JJ

Dabbler
HI everyone,

Complete NOOB here, been browsing the forums and doing research, almost ready to go ahead.

Currently I have a Plex Server running off i7 laptop with 2x 4TB & 2x 2TB external USB3 drives (don’t laugh) streaming to 2-4 tablets (via WiFi), 2 desktops & 1 TV (via 1Gb LAN). Running out of space and would also like to be able to backup local files from the desktops to an external source.

Proposal: FreeNAS system built for the file store. Plex Server still run from laptop.
BTW: I live in New Zealand so some parts are harder to source and/or get good prices for.

CPU: Pentium G4560
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSL-CF (on-board SAS big bonus)
RAM: 1x Crucial DDR4 16GB Unbuffered ECC
Case: X-Case RM424 Pro EX (4u chassis 24 hot-swap bays, inbuilt SAS expander backplane) https://www.xcase.co.uk/collections/4u-rackmount-cases/products/424-ex-pro
OS drive: Sandisk 120Gb SSD (boot) or would USB thumb drives be ok?
Storage Drives: 4TB WD Reds (initial number to be determined based on cash and final configuration)

Current cash is limited, so looking to start with a minimal outlay and over the next year max the RAM (hence the 1x16 not 2x8) and fill all the drive bays.
Questions I have:
1) Will the Pentium be enough to handle all 24 drives on the final system, or should I go for an i3 / Xenon initially?
2) In the final system (24 drives) what’s the best vdev layout? 3x 8 drive Raidz-2 or 2x 12 disk Raidz-3 or 2x 11 disk raidz-3 + 2 hot-spares?
3) What PSU should i go for? redundant or ATX and would 600W be enough?
4) Any other thoughts/suggestions

Thanks in advance

danb35

Hall of Famer
X-Case RM424 Pro EX (4u chassis 24 hot-swap bays, inbuilt SAS expander backplane)
Not familiar with that one, but it looks like it should do the business. Cooling's always going to be an issue with dense rack-mount chassis; you want to keep the disks under 40 C.