No Boot after Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bryan Kloos

Dabbler
Hey All,

System Configuration:

FreeNAS-9.10-STABLE-201606270534 (dd17351)
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4160 CPU @ 3.60GHz
Gigabyte ga-z87n WIFI
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C9D-16GXM
3 WD Red 3TB NAS Desktop Hard Disk Drive - Intellipower SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD30EFRX

I built the machine to play around and familiarize myself with freenas, and to serve up music and photos on the various PCs in my house.

I was notified of some updates, which I tried to run.

The machine will no not boot up.

I get the following error

no such device: c33c6eef20e39cd
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue>

Any ideas how I should proceed with a fix?
I'm very new to this and very basic.

I appreciate all your help.

Bryan

D

dlavigne

It's possible that the USB stick died. Try installing 9.10.1 on another stick and let us know if that boots OK.

Bryan Kloos

Dabbler
Thanks. I'll give a new usb drive a try.

If that is in fact the problem will I be able to recover the data in the pool? I guess we can figure that out once I get it to boot. I'll report back in anfew days once i get the drive.

D

dlavigne

This is why the OS is kept separate from your storage disks.

gpsguy

Bryan Kloos

Dabbler
Just to be sure I'm doing this correctly...
I download freenas 9.10.1 and write it to a new usb.
I then swap this usb for the old one on the server and boot it up as before?
Do I then install or upgrade?

Thanks!

Bryan Kloos

Dabbler
OK, so this is where I am at...

1. Downloaded 9.10.1
2. Wrote the image to a new 16gb scandisk cruiser (usb 1)
3. removed old USB and replaced with blank new scandisk cruiser 16gb (usb 2)
4. inserted the usb 1 and installed to the new usb 2
5. selected install/upgrade
6. was asked to remove installation usb (usb 1)
7. rebooted