BUILD Newbie, requesting hardware check (and possibly advice) before purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.

mdg

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I'm new at freenas and servers in general, and I was hoping I could get your guys' opinion on the hardware I've selected before I go ahead with purchasing. Any other advice or suggestions you have are also very much welcome.

My father and I both recently decided it would be good idea to get a backup solution up and running in our houses and figured it would be an added safety if we'd backup to each other as well, in case of fire or theft or stuff like that.
My father also wishes to store a bunch of video files on his machine which he made from old video cassettes. He will not have these files on other pcs in his house due to file size, so it would count as the original files on his server rather than backup files. Backup for these files would be both my server and in the worst case scenario his original video cassettes.

I myself have an old workstation I plan on using for this task, which is an HP XW6600 (xeon 5420, will need to upgrade the ram to 16gb). I figure since all I need it for is NAS \ Backup I don't need anything more fancy, and the hardware is already based on running 24\7 and has ecc ram and all that.
Alternatively if it's a bad choice to go this route (power consumption costs or hardware issues) I'd probably look towards buying a new cheap build or something.

Disclaimer: prices and purchasing will be based from The Netherlands.