Newbie needs help with Raid Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grantp

Contributor
Hi everyone,

I am totally new to FreeNAS / ZFS / FreeBSD etc and I've got myself completely stuck.

I am trying to use my existing LSI MegaRAID 9240-8i with FreeNAS-8.3.1-RC1-x64. I have 8 x 3TB SATA III Hard Drives. I have set the HD's as JBOD on the 9240 as I want ZFS to handle the Raid for me. When I try to boot I am getting the following msg -

mfi0: COMMAND 0xffffff8000b216c8 TIMEOUT AFTER 59 SECONDS, then repeating every 30 seconds.

I realise this is on the Forum in other places but I haven't been able to work out what I can do to sort this (if anything). Many posts take about running a PATCH but I don't know how to run a patch as I can't get to a command prompt and they all seem to be quiet lengthy lines of commands/code how do I run them.

I also realise that I may be better off running a HBA but as I already have a raid card and set drives to JBOD I assumed that would work.

Any help / pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks Grant

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Soo.. have you even tried the RELEASE version? I mean, betas/release candidates are for advanced users only. This is the 3rd time this week I've made this comment and the other 2 times their problems went away...

Grantp

Contributor
Hi cyberjock, Thanks for reply. Yes I have tried 'FreeNAS-8.3.0-RELEASE-p1-x64' and got the same result thats why I tried the RC. I found this that says problem has been fixed in 8.3 but obviously hasn't http://support.freenas.org/ticket/131. Can you suggest anything else I might try?

Many Thanks Grant

cyberjock

Inactive Account