Newbie - NAS Recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoelWeb

Cadet
The idea of building my own NAS is new to me, and I am a newbie at it. I want to recycle my old computer into a NAS for home use (mostly for file sharing, archiving and backup for me and my wife), but after reading all the comments here, I'm not sure FreeNAS is a good fit for my my limited hardware. It sounds like ZFS is too large and UFS is too small for my hardware. What I am looking for from the experts is; "How to make FreeNAS work with my hardware?" or "A recommendation for another version of NAS software that is a better fit for my limited resources"

My resources:

A old 2007 Dell XPS410 Dimension 9200 with 4 GB RAM
4 x 3 TB 7200 RPM Seagate drives OR 4 x 2 TB 7200 RPM Seagate drives
RAID 1

Due to funding restraints the only way I can upgrade to 8 GB RAM is to use 2 TB drives, but I'm not sure this is the way to go. I'd prefer the 3 TB drive storage capacity, if I can get them to work with the rest of my hardware resources.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Well, the manual gives you the potential consequences of not using 8GB of RAM. There be sharks in the water.

If you think you're going to get validation to use 4GB of RAM, you are sorely mistaken. The guide is maintained by many people, and we make the same recommendations here that you'll find in the manual. So pardon me if i tell you to check out the hardware requirements warnings and decide for yourself. Don't be surprised if you come here with a problem and we tell you to upgrade to the minimum requirements before we help you further. We've been around enough to know that the 8GB of RAM wasn't just made up out of thin air.

JoelWeb

Cadet
Well, the manual gives you the potential consequences of not using 8GB of RAM. There be sharks in the water.