Newbie looking to build a server

jdebuhr

Dabbler
I am looking to build a NAS server. I have built Windows machines in the past, set up a few Raspberry PIs, but this is new territory for me . I was given a Dell T320, it is collecting dust in my basement and would like to set it up for a NAS. I am a complete newbie when it comes to setting something like this up. Is it even worth it? If I go this route I will be asking a lot of questions

I am not sure if this is the right forum, so I apologize if I am in the wrong spot.

If I understand right, this can do more than just store data, I currently am running PLEX and Channels on a WIn10 machine, if I could move those to the NAS that would be great. Ultimately I would like it to be storage as well that can be accessed from Apple devices (Macbooks and possibly iOS of iPhone and iPad) along with PCs

here are some of the specs for this server:
PERC H710 Adapter RAID Controller, 512MB NV Cache
Raid 5 for H710P/H710/H310
Intel Xeon E5-2420 1.90GHz, 15 M Cache, 7.2GT/s QPI, Turbo, 6 C, 95W
4GB RDIMM, 1333 MT/s,
3 -1TB 7.2K RPM SATA 3Gbps 3.5in Hot-plug Hard Drive
On-Board LOM 1GBE (Dual Port f or Racks and Towers, Quad Port for Blades)

Thanks for any advice in advance

NugentS

MVP
1. Do not use RAID - you need to make sure the HBA is in IT Mode and not IR mode
2. You need more memory - 8GB minimum
Other than that it should be good. You will need to boot of something though - preferably not a USB flash drive

jdebuhr

Dabbler
1. Do not use RAID - you need to make sure the HBA is in IT Mode and not IR mode
2. You need more memory - 8GB minimum
Other than that it should be good. You will need to boot of something though - preferably not a USB flash drive
Yeah I did read the H710 is not a good selection, not that I had a choice, it was free. Can I use that card? or do I need to find something else?
I figured more ram is needed, will probably do 16-32, depending on cost.

For bootable drive, what is suggested if not a USB?