BUILD New year, new resolutions, new build

Status
Not open for further replies.

ponas

Dabbler
Hi guys, I’ve been lurking and reading these forums for a while now and I think I’m finally ready to make the jump and build my first NAS. I’m pretty much a noob when it comes to hardware and I’m quite new to the whole NAS thing. So, sorry already if some of my questions are way noobish.

After looking around the forums I settled on 2 different configurations. The first one uses the X10 mobo from SuperMicro and the second one the X11 platform. I understand that there’s a lot more support and documentation for the older X10, however I want to build something that will last me for a while and also I guess having the “latest and greatest” would be nice. From what I gather, the main issue for installing FreeNAS on the X11 mobo will be the XHCI issue. Is there something else I might have overlooked? From your experience, how probable is it that I will run in hard/very hard to debug problems due to using this newer platform?

I plan on using my server in RAIDZ2 for media storage, plex streaming/transcoding as well as a personal cloud and windows backup machine.

Here’s what will be common between the 2 configurations:

Case: Fractal Define R5

Power Supply: Seasonic G650 (this is probably overkill (from what I gather of the sticky on PSU sizing) but is there a risk I don’t know in running a bigger-than-needed PSU?)

HDD: WD Red 4To x 6 (but might be expended later to 8 or 10 drives)

Now for the differences;

1st configuration:

Motherboard: SuperMicro X10SL7-F

RAM: Crucial CT102472BD160B x 4 or Samsung M391B1G73QH0-YK0 x 4 (is one usually more recommended than the other? or since they are both on the “tested memory list” they are equivalent?)

CPU: Xeon E3-1230v3

Boot device: SanDisk 16 Gb Cruzer Fit SDCZ33-016G-B35 x3

2nd configuration: