New to ZFS - Quick Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrrodge

Cadet
Hi there,

New to all this and am trying to get my head around IOPS (I work in IT but am new to SAN/virtualization). I can see this post being the first of many!

I have a network topology in my office that isn't virtualized, so I'm looking to move away from the server's inbuilt RAID10 array to a SAN with Fibre Channel connection.

I'm not entirely sure how we're going to implement it yet, so at present I'm on a learning quest with some old desktop hardware I've thrown together and I'm playing with FreeNAS (don't worry, this will never be put on production, we'll probably by a TrueNAS or HP or something but I want to get a full understanding of the workings of these things).

Current hardware as follows:

AMD FX 4100 Quad-Core
16GB DDR3
2x 120GB SSDs
1x 640GB HDD
2x 2TB HDDs
2 x 1TB HDDs

At present, I have the array set up with one SSD for ZIL, the other for L2ARC, 640GB for hot spare and the remaining drives mirrored and striped in a RAID10-style setup.

Couple of queries with my current setup:

• With the 640GB as a hot spare, in the event of a failure of one of the 2TB drives, and that drive was, say, 750GB full, what happens? I was surprised FreeNAS allowed me to add a hot spare that was smaller than my biggest drive.
  • I've read that should the ZIL SSD die, the entire pool is lost and I should mirror it. Is this right?
  • The SSDs are standard and have no battery/supercapacitor for cache flushing.
  • So, in theory, if I added the extra SSD for ZIL and the whole system had a redundant power supply and external UPS, it'd be pretty much power failure proof?
That's pretty much it on the test rig I have now, but I also have some more production-specific questions for the future, based on multiple VMs running server roles such as Exchange, Active Directory, SQL Server, File shares etc. Obviously for this we'd use a FC connection to the SAN and IOPS will need to be maximised.