New to freenas, thinking of moving to new os help please!! Super slow.

Status
Not open for further replies.

fmydog

Cadet
Hello all!

I want to start with a simple intro to my situation. Please forgive me if i sound like a whinny spoiled kid. U have to understand Coming from my Qnap ts 509 pro with read speeds of 110MBs and write speeds of 90+ MBs i was spoiled. I decided to sell it for 2 reasons. 1. Only 5 bays (700$) so it was not worth it to me. 2. I wanted to take control of my hardware, lets say i lost my PSU i would have been screwed due to the proprietary hardware of Qnap. That was something i was not comfortable with. Best of all i love tinkering around and figuring things out for myself. I have very little experience with any of the fancy tools that all the tuning guides refer to like ssh and these consoles that all the users speak of. Next i will explain my problem.

Right now i am getting 33 MBs sustained from my box. Just to get it out there my network is fine i get 100 MBs from all PCs to and from. IE i have all GB nics and my router is GB and i have a backbone on a netgear prosafe 16 port switch that is smart/managed. i plugged my LAGG from my Qnap cords into my freenas box so theoretically my network can not be the problem. I really want more then 30 MBs. Here is a rundown of my whole system.

oh and i am using CIFS/SAMBA. I just want my speeds back. I have a LAGG with my dual port intel pro 1000

CASE: ROSEWILL RSV-Z2000 case 9 hdd 2u server case
PSU:Coolmax CUQ 1350 WATT PSU
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 2.0)
CPU: INTEL i7-920 2.4 GHZ QUAD CORE
RAM: 12 GB CROSSIAR DOMONATER 1600 DDR3 TRIPLE CHANNEL
NIC: INTEL PRO 1000/CT 2 PORT
HDD: 9X SEAGATE 5900 RPM GREENDRIVE SATA 3, 2TB
SATA CONTROLLER: 3 x SY-PEX40008 4 port sata 2 controller PCIE 1x