New to FreeNAS have a few questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

David-A-M

Cadet
Hi all, I am new to this thing of freenas, the reason I ended up here is, I was looking for a way to store my family pictures and movies and be able to see them from different computers around the house, also for automatic backup from said computers, so the best answer out there was to use an old PC with FreeNAS, the idea sounds wonderful but I am not experienced with this type of thing so I need to ask a few questiond regarding the system, I hope you can help me.

1. I am only thinking of using one hard drive, 1.5TB, I dont have that many files, mostly pictures and videos, maybe 500gb total, more will be added in the future I am sure, so... can one single drive be used with FreeNas? most tutorials out there show 3 or more HDDs.

2. once one drive is used and everything is setup and running, can the files in the hard drive that are stored using Freenas be accessed directly from the hard drive?, by that I mean, if for some reason Freenas quits working, can I simply pull the drive out and connected to a computer as an external drive and access/recover my files? assuming that the drive is good and freenas had a problem. This here question is perhaps the most important.

3. Can the PC running freenas be turned off while not being used, for example only be ON and running on weekends for access and backup and OFF the rest of the week? will turning on/off mess up the settings or anything like that?

Those are just a couple of questions, I am sure more will pop up as I start to work on this, in advance thank you and hope to get some answers soon so I can get moving on this... Thanks

Yatti420

Wizard