New NAS build. Anyone else have trouble matching ECC RAM?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eqartimus

Explorer
Hi all! This is my first post on these forums ... I have been lurking and reading all the posts I can find about FreeNAS and configurations ... Even watched the awesome slideshow from Cyberjock (ty) ... :)

BTW, I was a computer programmer for 30 years ... though I have been out of the field for 15+ years now. So I have a technical lean, though I am mostly clueless (but at least I know it!)

I am setting up a personal/home/small business solution. Something I probably should have done years ago! The main event here is of course NAS. After that, I will "play" with other bells-and-whistles that come from have NAS and Dedicated Server. (Media Streaming, Cloud, Music, etc.)

My biggest issues trying to put systems together has been about finding Motherboards that support ECC and that list 8mb SIMMs that are compatible. It has been a chore. My strategy has been to find a Server Motherboard that has Socket 1150 -- then check the company website for compatible ECC 8meg memory modules ... and see if I can find them for purchase.

This has proven rather tedious and difficult to say the least. Unless I am totally missing something, most of the compatible modules for sale are of the 4mb variety, which means that I would be unable to get 32mb of RAM on the motherboard. Perhaps the 8mb ECC memory that works is not listed ... perhaps people generally just use the clock speed and high quality companies .. dunno.. but I have scratched several mobos because I was unable to find listed EEC 8mb modules to buy.

Well, enough with that ... here is what I have settled on ... I would love your thoughts and insights about my selections:

1) ASRock Rack C226 WS
2) Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3
3) Kingston KVR13E9/8I DDR3-1333 8GB/1Gx72 ECC CL9 Server Memory x 4

4) Western Digital Red WD20EFRX 2TB x 6
5) Rosewill CAPSTONE Series ATX 750W
6) SanDisk Cruzer 8GB