Supermicro X11SSL-CF main board
Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 Boxed CPU
10x WD Red WD60EFRX, 6TB HDD
2x Corsair Force LS V2 60GB SSD
4x Crucial CT16G4WFD8213 16GB ECC UDIMM
Fractal Design Node 804 case
Corsair RM650x PSU
Noctua NH-L12 CPU cooler

I decided to upgrade my current QNAP NAS to a FreeNAS box. I have 25+ years of Unix experience, so I'm not afraid of the config side of things. On the hardware side however it has been 12 years since I built my own system.
I've done a lot of reading about ZFS and FreeNAS and it helped me a lot in making a hardware list. Initially I wanted to get 6x 8TB RAIDZ1 (5+1). I now realize with these large drives I should be doing RAIDZ2, however (4+2)x 8TB usable space is a bit too tight for me. So I need more disks, which also means more SATA ports, so I upgraded my first choice X11SSM-F to a X11SSL-CF.

A few questions I still have: what type of cable do I need to connect the SAS ports on the X11SSL-CF to the SATA drives? How should I spread the 12 drives (10x HDD + 2x SSD) over the 6 SATA and 2 SAS connectors? Is a 8+2 setup "optimal" with respect to alignment? Or should I adjust the ZFS 128k record size to avoid wasted space? Or should I be doing (6+2) x 8TB instead?

Any remarks or comments are appreciated!

Last edited by a moderator:

2nd-in-charge

Explorer
Hi Richie,

I'm a newbie myself, but have read a lot on this forum lately, and can point you in the right direction.

Save your money, stock cooler that comes with the CPU is enough.
Probably drop this for now too, just get two Sandisk Cruizer Ultra Fit 32Gb as boot drives. Get back to SSDs once you decide that you need a SLOG or L2ARC.
So I need more disks, which also means more SATA ports, so I upgraded my first choice X11SSM-F to a X11SSL-CF.
Depending on the price difference between the two boards, there could be a cheaper way to add more ports - X11SSM-F with LSI 9211-8i expansion card or a clone.