Advice on a FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

asinghania82

Cadet
Hello All,
I'm a newbie and this is my first FreeNAS build. I work for a small geospatial research lab. The NAS is mostly for storing/backing up data and connecting it to an internal network so that lab members can access it as and when they need it. It wont be used for any kind of data processing, just storage of large volume of data. I've gone through the recommendations on the FreeNAS website and the forums here and come up with some system specs. I wanted you all's advice on:

Case: Rosewill 12 BAY HotSwap RSV-L4412
MotherBoard: Supermicro - X11SSL - CF - O - mostly for the 14 drives capability
CPU : Intel Pentium G4560
RAM: 32 GB - 2 x Crucial 16GB DDR4-2133 CT16G4WFD8213
HDD: 3 or 4 - 12TB Seagate Ironwolf
PSU: Seasonic FOCUS FM series 750watts 80+ Gold - SSR-750FM
Boot: Crucial MX500 250GB 3D NAND SATA 2.5 Inch Internal SSD - CT250MX500SSD1(Z)

I'm starting with 3/4 drives with the highest capacity available and 32 GB RAM for budgetary constraints. Idea is to get the NAS started and then every 8 months to a year add more 12 TB drives as the need arises, basically spreading the drive and ram cost over a year or two. I like the case for the ease of drive installation. Also the NAS will be basically sitting in our lab over a computer desk.

Let me know what you guys think.
Thanks.

danb35

Hall of Famer
add more 12 TB drives as the need arises,
How are you planning to do this? If you have, say, your currently-planned four drives in RAIDZ2, you can't just add another one to make a five-drive RAIDZ2.

Last edited:

asinghania82

Cadet
Actually I wont be adding 1 drive at a time rather 3-4 at a time and create a new RAIDZ2. We generally create a new budget at a start of a financial year. So depending on the prevailing prices and the biggest TB sizes available I could budget in the drives and use them to create a new RaidZ2.

loch_nas

Explorer