Nas seen on the web?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cattledog

Dabbler
Hi..I am a newbie with free nas, but all I wanted was it to be hidden behind my server (sme9.1.1) for my local network, as I use my server as a webpage server, why has it taken over from my sme?

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
It's probably because of default ports, no? Your SME will have its webpage on port 80 for http, and so will your FreeNAS. If I'm understanding you correctly, you probably have two things trying to be on port 80. Maybe you want to change the FreeNAS port to something else (say, 8080, is a common choice when there's a conflict), then you would access the SME on http://128.1.2.3/ and you could access the FreeNAS on http://128.1.2.3:8080/
(obviously replacing 128.1.2.3 with the actual IP, duh).

The option for the FreeNAS port is right in the GUI/system setup.

That's, *IF* I have inferred what you're saying correctly. You didn't give a lot of details on how you were set up.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
so you arent behind a NAT device?
It wasn't quite clear what his network setup was. Sounded to me like the SME *was* the NAT/PAT device.

cattledog

Dabbler
It wasn't quite clear what his network setup was. Sounded to me like the SME *was* the NAT/PAT device.
My sme is a server/gateway conected to a router, so if I am understanding what you have said that nas is connected on 80port so to change that I would go lets say 192.168.1.56:8080?

cattledog

Dabbler
My sme is a server/gateway conected to a router, so if I am understanding what you have said that nas is connected on 80port so to change that I would go lets say 192.168.1.56:8080?
but I would asume that is if the ip are the same? but my server is a dhcp server name server

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
OK, cattledog. We need more information here. You have conflicting info.

What does your network topology look like?
What device is your gateway?
How are things connected?