Borja

Contributor
Case: U-nas NSC800
Power Supply: 1U PS 400W
Motherboard: Supermicro A1SRi-2758F
CPU: OnBoard Atom C2758
Mem: 2x8GB DDR3 Unbuffered ECC Crucial CT5203803
HardDrives: 8xHGST Deskstar NAS 4TB
SATA Controller: Supermicro AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 (This card is not recommended because marvell controller?, I'm not sure, I'm looking for a simple but reliable controller that adds 2 sata ports to the system)
Battery Backup: ?? I really appreciate suggestions.

FreeNAS 9.3 + Raid-z2.

60% of use is to store and modify ms office documents. 40% is to store and play zvi videos not bigger than 3GB.

I'm new to freenas so, any help or suggestion i appreciate. Thanks.

Last edited:

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
I typically stick with rackmount equipment. Many people here use the fractal design define r5 case.

However, if it were me and 8 hotswap bays were a requirement, I'd seriously consider a thinkserver ts440 with 8 hotswap bays and an LSI 9211-8i add-on. Sometimes it's nice to use a product with some brand recognition.

Fuganater

Patron
There is a thread about RAM. You should avoid Kingston RAM.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
You don't want to use the AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 which is based on a Marvell SATA controller.

Borja

Contributor
There is a thread about RAM. You should avoid Kingston RAM.

But is very difficult to find ecc ram so-dimm in my country. Do you know some shop where i can buy ecc so-dimm ram and ships to Spain?

Borja

Contributor
You don't want to use the AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 which is based on a Marvell SATA controller.

Thank you. Is difficult to find a simple and inexpensive sata controller to add 2 ports to the system. I dont need raid modes, only 2 more sata ports. what do you recommend me?

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Thank you. Is difficult to find a simple and inexpensive sata controller to add 2 ports to the system. I dont need raid modes, only 2 more sata ports. what do you recommend me?