My First FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ty Eichele

Cadet
Hello - a few months ago when I came across the whole NAS concept, I knew I had to have one. I started researching, and slowly putting parts together. I ended up with the following hardware:

Thermaltake V1 Case (Modified to Accomodate 3 Hard Disks)
ASRock Rack E3c224d2i Motherboard
Intel Celeron G1820
16gb ECC Kingston Memory
2tb Seagate Barracuda LP Hard Drives x 3
Corsair CS450M PSU
Sandisk 16gb Flash Drive

So far, I love it. I'm still learning how to use everything, and take advantage of all the features that FreeNAS has to offer. My primary use for this NAS is pictures/files on my home network. I don't plan on running any jails, etc on it. Just storage for pictures, files, etc.

I want to make sure that I have everything set up properly in case of failure. As you can see above, I'm running a RaidZ1 configuration with only 3 hard drives. I've read a lot of good and bad with this setup....can anyone chime in?

As far as maintenance goes, my Scrub schedule is: Min=00 Hour=00 Day of Month=Everyday Month=Every Month Day of Week=Sunday Enabled=True

Periodic Snapshot = Every Day between 0900-1800 once a day

SMART Tests - Long Test @ Hour=05 Day of Month=01, 15 Every Month Everyday of Week
Short Test @ Hour=00 Everyday of Month Every Month on Saturday

My final question, is there anything else I should be doing as far as backups, maintenance, etc. to provide the best possible outcome if something were to fail and I needed to restore? Do I need to backup my boot usb somehow?
I will keep reading the manual and these forums, I learn a lot every time I get the chance to read.
Thanks!

Attachments

• 20151015_160935.jpg
    20151015_160935.jpg
    233.2 KB · Views: 275
  • 20151015_162710.jpg
    20151015_162710.jpg
    220.7 KB · Views: 262
  • 20151017_105215.jpg
    20151017_105215.jpg
    198.5 KB · Views: 261
  • 20151017_105223.jpg
    20151017_105223.jpg
    339.7 KB · Views: 254