Motherboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gramb67

Cadet
I started reading your guide and read your motherboard recommendations, I have a question on a motherboard that I found and since I'm new at this and majority of you are a lot more knowledgeable than I, I'm looking for your opinion on it.

I was looking at the ASRock Rack EPC6112D4U-2T8R

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00Z87EONE/ref=ox_sc_act_title_5?smid=A3DWYIK6Y9EEQB&psc=1

I know its a little older but it has DDR4 ECC and it has lots of SATA ports built in.. As this is my first home server I'm building and want it to last a while I was leaning towards it. I couldn't really find any negative issues with it and I would like a second option on it before I hit the buy button..

I'm thinking of the Intel Xeon E5-2630 v3 2.4GHz 8 core as the processor

Thanks

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Looks like it would work just fine. Just make sure you can get compatible ECC memory for it before you purchase.

That CPU is awful pricey. Do you need 8 cores?

Vito Reiter

Wise in the Ways of Science
I started reading your guide and read your motherboard recommendations, I have a question on a motherboard that I found and since I'm new at this and majority of you are a lot more knowledgeable than I, I'm looking for your opinion on it.

I was looking at the ASRock Rack EPC6112D4U-2T8R

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00Z87EONE/ref=ox_sc_act_title_5?smid=A3DWYIK6Y9EEQB&psc=1

I know its a little older but it has DDR4 ECC and it has lots of SATA ports built in.. As this is my first home server I'm building and want it to last a while I was leaning towards it. I couldn't really find any negative issues with it and I would like a second option on it before I hit the buy button..

I'm thinking of the Intel Xeon E5-2630 v3 2.4GHz 8 core as the processor

Thanks