Hallo everybody

I've been running this hardware setup for several years now:
* Intel i5 3470s 2.9 - 3.6 GHZ with 4 Cores without HT and a TDP of 65W
* Gigabyte P67A-UD3-B3
* 32 GB RAM non ECC DDR3
* PCIe Intel Gigabit Card
* 5 x 4 TB HDD (spinning disks) as RAIDZ2 encrypted
* 1 x SanDisk Cruzer Blade flash drive for OS
* 1 x 100 GB SATA SSD for L2ARC and zil (partitioned)
* 1 x USB3 4 TB external HDD for backup purposes

I plan to migrate to new hardware in order to achieve this:
* Better CPU with same TDP
* ECC instead of non ECC
* more RAM
* more space for HDD
* faster IO

That's what I plan to migrate to:
* AMD Ryzen 3600 6 Cores with HD and TDP of 65W
* Asrock Taichi X470 (those X570 need too much power)
* 64 GB ECC DDR4
* keep PCIe Intel Gigabit Card for ez migration
* keep 5 x 4 TB HDD and some day migrate to 6 x 8 TB RaidZ2
* USB Flash drive for OS, haven't decided which one (USB3?)
* 1 x Samsung Evo 970 M.2 for zil (to boost write performance)
* No more SSD read cache as my RAM should suffice for that
* keep USB3 4 TB for backup

I plan to make a configuration backup and do a fresh install onto a new flash drive and restore. If you guys are interested in the outcome I will post my results and experiences with this new hardware. Some day I might migrate to 10G Ethernet because 1G is a bit too slow for this monster setup, right?
I appreciate any thoughts on my plans. If there's no showstopper I will order the hardware next week

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Asrock Taichi X470
Not a good choice. ECC support is dubious, for starters. It also lacks IPMI and associated features. The extra stuff is wasted and may in fact cause trouble (though it is unlikely) and will draw power for no good reason.

* keep PCIe Intel Gigabit Card for ez migration