Migrating VM to jails ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delivereath

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm using FreeNAS as an ESXI virtual machine. I also have a few other VM (Plex, Owncloud, and so on). It seems that a lot of the tools I'm using are available as plugins.

From a performance point of view, is there a risk migrating my VMs to jails/plugins ? What about RAM requirements ? I've allocated 8GB to FreeNAS. Is it possible to keep this 8GB to FreeNAS but add some more to the jails ?

Finally, should I use FreeBSD jails or virtualbox ones ?

Thanks !

danb35

Hall of Famer
You should use FreeBSD jails unless you want to install VMs under VirtualBox. In that case, you would install a VirtualBox jail, and then create VMs as desired in VirtualBox. I can't see any reason you'd want to do that, though--it's my understanding that ESXi is a much better hypervisor than VirtualBox (though I have no experience with ESXi to say one way or the other).

I would expect the RAM requirement for (FreeNAS VM with Plex and Owncloud jails) to be less than the RAM requirement for (FreeNAS VM + Plex VM + Owncloud VM). I'd similarly expect the CPU and other resource requirements to be less. However, the resource requirements for the FreeNAS VM will increase, particularly RAM. I wouldn't want to run FreeNAS with Plex with less than 16 GB of RAM.

Delivereath

Dabbler
Thanks for your quick reply.

My system runs with 32 GB so I will allocate some more RAM to my FreeNAS VM and install the plugins I need. There is no need to define how much RAM I want to allocate to Plex/Owncloud and how much to keep for FreeNAS core ?

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Jails don't provide any kind of resource containers. Jails just provide a sandboxed execution environment. So applications in jails will get full access to cpu and memory of the host machine.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant