Migrate Pool to new HBA controller

Status
Not open for further replies.

crisman

Explorer
Hi,

I've Freenas 9.1.1 x64 installed on a Asus E45M1-M PRO board with 5 sata drives supporting a Raid-Z pool, I would like to install this pool to a new HBA controller (Dell PERC H200 or Serveraid M1015 Flashed IT) and would like to know if is possible to migrate this drives/pools to the new controller without loosing the pool?

Thanks.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Assuming the controller just disk standard disk passthrough like a dumb SATA controller should, you can plug the hard drives in anywhere and as long as the controller is a passthrough controller and is supported by FreeBSD/FreeNAS when you poweron the box the pool will mount as if you hadn't changed a thing.

I know you can mix and match with the M1015, but I have no experience with the PERC. Most PERCs people mention here are not HBAs and don't really work properly in HBA mode, so I'd be inclined to say "buy the M1015 that everyone else buys".

crisman

Explorer
Assuming the controller just disk standard disk passthrough like a dumb SATA controller should, you can plug the hard drives in anywhere and as long as the controller is a passthrough controller and is supported by FreeBSD/FreeNAS when you poweron the box the pool will mount as if you hadn't changed a thing.

I know you can mix and match with the M1015, but I have no experience with the PERC. Most PERCs people mention here are not HBAs and don't really work properly in HBA mode, so I'd be inclined to say "buy the M1015 that everyone else buys".

Hi Cyberjock,

Thanks for your reply,

according to this 2 threads:

http://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/dell-md1200-sas-h200-perc.12934/

This one was initiated by me:

http://forums.freenas.org/index.php...-8-port-sas-sata-raid-card.20407/#post-116598