Massive ZFS IO Errors

k002

Cadet
Hello All,

Im pretty new to ZFS an TrueNAS in general. My aim was to build a cheap and energy saving server. Therefore I`m using a Fujitsu Futro S920 Motherboard with 8GB of non ECC RAM. The Mainboard has a Pcie x4 Gen3 slot. I`ve plugged in a PCIe to SATA card for more SATA Ports. I know these things are not ideal but i don`t need mass bandwidth. The Cards i used where based on a Marvel 88SE9215 (PCIe x1 Gen2) and now a ASM1166 (PCIe x4 Gen3) controller. For power the Futro gets its own power from the factory power supply, while the HDDs are getting there own Power from power supply for HDDs with 2,5A on 12V and 5V each. Cables have been changed more than once to eliminate any bad cabling errors. Drives are 2 Seagate (Ironwolf Pro and Exos) + old Laptop Hitachi Drive – all use CMR.

As you see I´ve changed everything except the Mainboard multiple times an still getting IO Erros in Mass with a few read and write errors as well. First it was just one drive throwing errors (Exos) so I went an bought the Ironwolf but now all drives show error Massages and bombarding me with warnings about degraded pools and so on…

Error logs are hopefully coming soon.

My next idea is to try a real PSU for the drives. Mybe the power output of the power supply is faulty?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
There's a lot to go wrong there. The SATA controllers are dubious and the power situation crazy, to the point where I wouldn't rule out physical damage. Are the various grounds tied together with a proper low-impedance path or at least all referenced to mains earth? What are these PSUs exactly?

Davvo

MVP
Ugh. Please read the following resource.

I wouldn't personally reccomend a build like yours.

asap2go

Patron
For power the Futro gets its own power from the factory power supply, while the HDDs are getting there own Power from power supply for HDDs with 2,5A on 12V and 5V each.
Each as:
in each drive