Mac share writeable by more than one group?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob Ellis

Cadet
Can I create a mac share that is writeable by more than one group? Not using Open Directory, just native FreeNAS users and groups.

So far, I've
- created two users, one in group 'admin', one in group 'teachers'
- created a dataset 'teachers', share type 'Mac'
- created an AFP share called 'teachers' and set read-write to: @admin,@teachers

This works -- users in one or the other group can both write files -- but only if I set the dataset permissions so that 'other' can write (i.e., perms = 777).

The network share permissions are working ok -- somebody who's not in those groups cannot see the share -- but it seems wrong to have the top directory in the dataset writable by 'other'...?

Any suggestions would be appreciated, I'm just getting into FreeNAS. :)

Thanks.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Since AFP is slowly but surely heading the way of the dodo, you're better off using SMB and ACLs. Catch: You need either serious CLI permissions-fu or a Windows client to manage permissions.

Rob Ellis

Cadet
You're suggesting using a samba active directory domain controller + windows client to manage permissions for smb shares?

We have all macs on a small network. I don't really want to run windows, and I'd also like to avoid active directory / open directory / ldap if possible. Maybe it's not possible, but it seems like a lot of setup...

Is there a recipe somewhere for making FreeNAS windows shares for macs? Other places I have been reading about needing Avahi. We will need something like that too?

Thanks.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
No, AD is not required at all.

Is there a recipe somewhere for making FreeNAS windows shares for macs?
???

Make an SMB share and connect to it with Finder or whatever.

Rob Ellis

Cadet