Lots of questions from a noob for experienced users

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whatts

Dabbler
Hi all,

I'm new to FreeNAS and I have “a few” questions. First some background information...

Why FreeNAS:
Not because I’m unhappy with my actual networked storage, but because I like to play with this stuff. I like to tinker and push my network. I’d also like to obliterate my colleague’s 64MB/s write speed (over CIFS to a Synology DS213j) :)

My current box:
For the moment I'm testing FreeNAS on a Gigabyte GA-F2A85XM-D3H motherboard with an AMD A8-5600k quadcore and 4x4GB Crucial Ballistix 1866MHz RAM (non-ECC). I'm using 2 Intel Desktop CT NICs (82574L controller) and a single 2TB WD green drive, the OS is on a mini Sandisk 8GB USB stick. The PSU is a 350w Corsair, the case a Fractal Design Arc Mini (v1).
Now I've done the research and I'm aware this is pretty far from what you'd advise as hardware, but I have my reasons for using this setup for now. Mainly: I wanted to test FreeNAS for a while with cheap hardware that could later be repurposed as a cheap multimedia/internet PC for my mom. The PSU and drive I had laying around, so all in all the cost wasn't too high. I’m getting between 55MB/s and 60MB/s write speeds over CIFS.

Usage and network setup:
The FreeNAS will be used to serve HD content (720p and 1080p with up to 3 simultaneous streams) to mediaplayers and computers around the house and for photo and document storage. Read and write (adding new HD content) will be done at the same time. This is why I set up the Intel NICs with LACP to my central 24p Cisco SG200 series switch. I'm currently also using 2 Synology DS212J boxes for HD content and 2 Iomega Iconnects (basically a 4xUSB to gigabit ethernet box) for SD material. One of the Synology boxes also acts as an OpenVPN server/endpoint.

Thinking about new hardware:
I've been checking out the Supermicro X9SCM-F board and the Intel Xeon E3-1230v2 CPU, with ECC memory.

Now here come the questions: