Jail newcomer - quick overview on some basics?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stilez

Guru
I'm new to jails, having not used them on FreeBSD or FreeNAS. The guide looks fairly straightforward. I'd like to check my understanding and make sure I have some stuff right, though. I'm happy using UI or CLI to manage them, but will probably create using GUI.

*brain dump start *
  1. We have warden (old), iocage (new) and transition (now). Should I create my jail using iocage or use warden + convert it when 11.2 comes out?
  2. Do I need to create my jail using newUI or CLI if I want to use iocage as the doc suggests? If so, is iocage complete and "production ready" (the jail system that is, if not fully set up for GUI management yet)?
  3. What happens when FreeNAS upgrades? Will my jails need to be set up freshly, or do they "just work"?
  4. Suppose I reinstall on a new platform (importing existing config). I might import pool+config or just config, so the expected file paths and files might or might not all exist. What's the scope for confusion and how easy is it to put right (e.g., is it easy to get them running by just copying over the relevant directories it's expecting, or what else might be needed?)
  5. I gather that to control a jail's permissions for external paths it's allowed to access (is that the right teminology?), I need to create users within the jail whose uids and/or gids match the expected uids/gids of permissions/ACLs it needs to access. Is that about right, and what's involved (to make it work and to make sure it stays secure). I'm assuming root wouldn't be mapped over but are all others or just some? Any suggested resources to understand how to control this aspect?