Jail Network Problem - No communication with gateway

Status
Not open for further replies.

lorenzoASR

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
39
Dear Forum,

I've just installed FreeNas and that is my configuration:

Host Name freenas
Version FreeNAS-8.3.1-RELEASE-p2-x64 (r12686+b770da6_dirty)
Platform Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4600 @ 2.40GHz
Memory 4080MB
System Clock Wed Jul 17 17:40:59 CEST 2013
Uptime 5:40PM up 1:08, 1 user
Average Load 0.11, 0.05, 0.01
Connected through 192.168.3.25

Network Settings:
Code:
Name re0
IPv4 Address 192.168.3.25/24
Nameserver 192.168.2.10 - 8.8.8.8
Route default 192.168.3.1


NB: The system is on a 4GB flash SD, DHCP is not active on my router so I use static ip address
NB2: From freenas network work perfectly (i can connect outside, i can ping all i want)
NB3: This is a fresh installation

Now, i would to install some Plugins to enhance the power of the system, and I made those operations:
1) Created two ZFS Datasets into my Volume "firstHd": "pluginJail" and "pluginSave" , each of 4gb
2) Services->Plugin->Management->Settings (click)
----> step1 : save PBI into /mnt/firstHd
----> step2: path-plugin-jail = /mnt/firstHd/pluginJail
jail name = owncloudJail
jail IP = 192.168.3.30
jail IP netmask = /24 (255.255.255.0)
MAC = *empty* (automatic)
plugins-archive-path= /mnt/firstHd/pluginSave
----> step3: upload the jail's PBI FreeNAS-8.3.1-RELEASE-x64.Plugins_Jail.pbi
3) Services->Service Control->set ON to Plugins

Ok, now the Plugin Jail is running, i can see it by typing:

Code:
[root@freenas] /# jls
JID IP Address Hostname Path
3 - owncloudJail /mnt/firstHd/pluginJail/owncloudJail
Entering the jail....
[root@freenas] /# jexec 3 /bin/tcsh
owncloudJail#


Now i want to see if network is working correcty, let's do some tests:

a) ping FREENAS (192.168.3.25) -> JAIL (192.168.3.30) (SUCCESS)

Code:
[root@freenas] /# ping 192.168.3.30
PING 192.168.3.30 (192.168.3.30): 56 data bytes
--- 192.168.3.30 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0.0% packet loss

b) ping JAIL (192.168.3.30) -> FREENAS (192.168.3.25) (SUCCESS)
Code:
owncloudJail# ping 192.168.3.25
--- 192.168.3.25 ping statistics ---
2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0.0% packet loss

c) ping GW (192.168.3.1) -> JAIL (192.168.3.30) (FAILED)
Code:
root@gw:~# ping 192.168.3.30
PING 192.168.3.30 (192.168.3.30) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.3.1 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.3.1 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.3.1 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
--- 192.168.3.30 ping statistics ---
 
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 4036ms

d) ping JAIL (192.168.3.30) -> GW (192.168.3.1) (FAILED)

Code:
owncloudJail# ping 192.168.3.1
PING 192.168.3.1 (192.168.3.1): 56 data bytes
--- 192.168.3.1 ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

e) ping JAIL (192.168.3.30) -> WEB (8.8.8.8) (FAILED)

Code:
owncloudJail# ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
 
6 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss


That's my problem!

I give you other infos: jail "ifconfig -a"

Code:
owncloudJail# ifconfig -a
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
nd6 options=3<PERFORMNUD,ACCEPT_RTADV>
epair0b: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:c7:78:00:0d:0b
inet 192.168.3.30 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.3.255
inet6 fe80::c7:78ff:fe00:d0b%epair0b prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
nd6 options=3<PERFORMNUD,ACCEPT_RTADV>
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active


and the FREENAS "ifconfig -a"

Code:
[root@freenas] /# ifconfig -a
re0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=2099<RXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,WOL_MAGIC>
ether 00:1f:c6:05:7d:9c
inet 192.168.3.25 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.3.255
media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=3<RXCSUM,TXCSUM>
inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0xa
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
nd6 options=3<PERFORMNUD,ACCEPT_RTADV>
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 02:d6:d8:7a:7d:00
id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 100 timeout 1200
root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
member: re0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 4 priority 128 path cost 200000
member: epair0a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 12 priority 128 path cost 2000
epair0a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:c7:78:00:0c:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active


I hope you have all the informations needed to solve this problem,
Thank you in advance!
Lorenzo
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526

lorenzoASR

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
39
Sorry, I had some doubts about having chosen the right section for my post.

Can you tell me if it is Networking or Plugins related?

Thanks
 

lorenzoASR

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
39
UPDATE: I have made some tests. The networking seems work ONLY if I configure Freenas network WITH DHCP!

If i use a static IP address for Freenas, the jail too cannot navigate !
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
In response to your PM - If you want to abandon FreeNAS I won't stop you. FreeNAS isn't for everyone. It takes some skill to setup and administer properly and safely. It also sometimes takes alot of patience, experimenting and reading from Google.

The problem is some issues are not really solvable in a forum setting. Your issue is quite complex and you've found a solution (use DHCP). If using DHCP isn't a solution then you should start checking your network settings to see what setting either is being set or is being set correctly versus your manual settings.

The issue may also stem from the fact that your GW is blocking traffic that is from a device that is a manual config.

The "path" that a given data packet takes from your ping command to the actual GW and back is quite complex. There's alot of stuff that can go wrong(and apparently is going wrong).

Other than that, I don't have any recommendations. Your issue is quite complex, and unless you are an advanced FreeBSD user, you may have problems getting some stuff to work correctly without using automated settings options like DHCP. I can tell from your posts that you are not an advanced FreeBSD user. ;)

Good luck.
 

lorenzoASR

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
39
Thanks for your answer!

I agree with you when you say that if I want to "modify" FreeNAS I have to know much about FreeBSD.

I'm a Debian user and I know well how a network works, and my idea is that are some problems about NATting from FreeBSD host, to FreeBSD jail (i've sniffed my network, and when I try to do something from Jail, NO packets go outside from FreeBSD host, so I think the problem is in the configuration).

Unfortunatly i cant use DHCP in my network, for much reasons. I was only looking for someone with FreeBSD Networking Skills who can address me in the correct way!

So, I'll wait for some good person who have time to spent with me,

Lorenzo
 

m4rv1n

Explorer
Joined
Oct 10, 2014
Messages
51
Hi Lorenzo, have you solved this problem? Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top