SOLVED Jail cannot access internet / no dans after IP Address & Subnet change

ericv

Explorer
My FreeNAS box used to have an IP address of 192.168.2.X (dhcp) and my plex and transmission jails used to be 192.168.2.2 and 192.168.2.3 respectively. The router had an ip address of 192.168.2.1.

I've made some network changes and now...

router = 192.168.1.1
freenas = 192.168.1.X
plex jail = 192.168.1.101
transmission jail = 192.168.1.102

Since I've made this change my jails do not have access to the internet.

When I ssh into freeness I can ping both 8.8.8.8 and google.com.
When I ssh into my jails (either one) i can ping 8.8.8.8 but not google.com

I'm not a jails expert, but it sounds like there might come config file I don't know about that needs updating?

I've searched the forums and all I can find is this, but there isn't a good solution.
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...nge-and-no-internet-access.27431/#post-176156

ericv

Explorer
Ok, so after 2 hours of searching and trying to figure this out I decide to make this post. Then in about 1 minute I figure out I need to manually update the following file for each jail...

/etc/resolv.conf

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Or you could have just changed the jails network configuration on the jail tab to match your network settings.

ericv

Explorer
Or you could have just changed the jails network configuration on the jail tab to match your network settings.

I tried that in about the first 3 minutes. It didn't work. I updated the "IPv4 default gateway" to the new address (192.168.1.1) and restarted the jail. No luck. I even restarted the FreeNAS server. The /etc/resolv.conf file was still referencing the old address.

ericv

Explorer

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
That's good to know, thanks for the update.